New Year’s Resolutions

As we approach the end of January the topic of resolutions weighs heavily on my mind.

Okay, maybe not heavily, but my thoughts do circle back to my resolutions on a semi-regular basis.

This year, 2017, will probably not be the year I completely make myself over. Though, admittedly, I don’t want to completely make myself over, but there are changes I would like to make. A few of these are the typical resolutions, like getting into shape and eating healthier – things like that. But I have to say my approach is a bit different this year.

Instead of giving myself these broad resolutions, “getting into shape” and “eating healthier”, I’ve decided to narrow these statements down. Namely, by asking myself one question: What does this resolution mean?

“Getting into shape” likely has a different meaning for each person that adopts it as their resolution. For a man on the skinnier side of the spectrum it might mean he wants to bulk up. For a woman in her forties it might mean she wants to lose her love handles. For a twenty-something it might mean building washboard abs.

Point is, these broad resolutions should be narrowed down – with specificity in mind.

For me, “getting into shape”, has several meanings. Firstly, I want to establish the habit of exercising for at least thirty minutes a day, at least three times a week. Second, I want to build muscle mass, because I hardly have any. And, finally, I’d like to lose about 20 lbs. You’ll notice I’ve numbered these goals and, make no mistake, that’s on purpose. I’ve found that prioritizing my goals/tasks/errands/etc. tends to help me finish anything I want or need to do. So you bet your ass I’ve prioritized my New Year’s Resolutions.

I’m not going to list all of my resolutions for you, if that’s what you’re hoping for. I have the list on my phone, so I won’t forget them, and I may write about them in posts later this year. But, right now, I’m just not going to list them. I think it’s scary enough that I’ve gone into detail over my “getting into shape” resolution. Because who knows if I’ll actually accomplish that goal this year? Or next year? Or in ten years?

Truthfully, I have no clue if I’ll accomplish any of my resolutions. Maybe I will. Maybe I won’t. Only time will tell. In the meantime, all I can do is take life a day at a time. It’s all that anyone can do, really.

So, tell me, do you have any resolutions for 2017? Have you been sticking to them? Or, do you not have any resolutions? If not, then why not? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

